Sunflowers by Vincent Van Gogh

Image

3 Comments

Filed under Art

3 responses to “Sunflowers by Vincent Van Gogh

  1. I grew up with a framed print of Sunflowers in the family home, and always admired it. This was around the time Don Maclean had released the song Vincent, so with his name there on the flowerpot, it was very relevant at the time. I did not realize, in my youthful naivety, how flat and lifeless was the print and what little justice it did the real artwork.
    I was in London in 1982 and went to the National Gallery, where I saw this version of Sunflowers in all its glory. I was stunned to experience the thickness of the paint with globs of it rising from the canvas to give it three-dimensional character in such contrast to my two-dimensional memory.
    I will never forget it.

Leave a Reply

