Dialogue from Film – “Dogma” ~~Train~~

BARTLEBY

When do you think you lost your faith?

BETHANY

I remember the exact moment. I was on the phone with my mother, and she was trying to counsel me through what was happening to me and my marriage. And she said something like “There’s always a plan.” And I… just got so angry. I mean, I know she was talking about God, right – God had a plan. But I was like “What about my plans?” You know? Like, don’t they count for anything? I had planned to grow old with my husband and have a family – wasn’t that plan good enough for God?

(beat)

Apparently not.

(swigs her drink)

How about you? When did you lose your faith?

BARTLEBY

Me? Years ago. One day, God just stopped listening. I kept talking, but I got the distinct impression that He wasn’t listening anymore.

BETHANY

She. And how do you know She was listening in the first place?

BARTLEBY

(thinks)

I guess I don’t.

BETHANY

I hate thoughts like that. But they occur to you with age. When you’re a kid, you never question the whole faith thing – God’s in Heaven, and He’s… She’s always got her eye on you. I’d give anything to feel that way again. Which is why I guess I let myself get talked into this pilgrimage. I needed proof. And the opportunity presented itself to find out if it is like they told us in Catholic school. And I gotta tell you – the last few days, I’ve come across some interesting people that lend toward convincing me.

BARTLEBY

Where’s this pilgrimage to?

BETHANY

You’d never believe me if I told you.

BARTLEBY

Try me.

BETHANY

Alright. But I warned you. Okay – I’m going to this church in New Jersey.

BARTLEBY

Really…

INT TRAIN CAR

Rufus heads toward the back of the car. He opens the door between the cars and exits.

INT LOUNGE CAR

Bethany and Bartleby talk further. Bartleby’s intrigued.

BETHANY

I was told that I’m supposed to stop a couple of angels from entering the church. They’re trying…

(laughing)

This sounds so stupid… They’re trying to get back into Heaven.

INT TRAIN CAR

Rufus passes through another car and opens the door at the end.

INT LOUNGE CAR

Bartleby grows very tense. Bethany rattles on, half-toasted.

BETHANY

See, they got tossed out of Heaven years ago, right? And if they get back in, it proves God wrong. And since God is infallible, to prove Her wrong would…

(laughing hard)

..would unmake existence! I feel so stupid just saying it.

Bartleby’s eyes are wide. He looks scared. Then, a calm falls over him.

BETHANY

(laughing)

But the thing I don’t get… is how do I stop an angel? Two, even! I guess I’m supposed to talk them out of it or something.

Bartleby surreptitiously slides a knife off the table.

BARTLEBY

Maybe you’re supposed to kill them?

Bethany breaks into hysterics.

INT TRAIN CAR

Rufus pulls open another door and exits.

INT LOUNGE CAR

Bethany’s still cracking up, oblivious to the on-the-defensive Bartleby.

BETHANY

Oh yeah! Kill them! Even if that was the case… I mean. how do you kill an angel?

BARTLEBY

I don’t imagine it’s much different…

(slowly lifts the knife)

…from killing a human…

The door behind them slides open. Rufus steps in.

RUFUS

Where the hell is everybody? I wake up, and…

He sees Bartleby. They both freeze.

BARTLEBY

The Apostle!

RUFUS

Holy shit!

 

picture-Dogma-Train

1 Comment

Filed under Dialogue

One response to “Dialogue from Film – “Dogma” ~~Train~~

  1. ‘Dogma’ was released in 1999 and was written and directed by Kevin Smith, who also stars in the film.
    The film follows two fallen angels, Loki and Bartleby, who, through an alleged loophole in Catholic dogma, find a way to get back into Heaven after being cast out by God. However, as existence is founded on the principle that God is infallible, their success would prove God wrong and thus undo all creation. The last scion (‘Bethany’) and two prophets are sent by the Voice of God to stop them.

Leave a Reply

