Dialogue from Film – “Jack and the Beanstalk” ~~Magic Beans~~

Jack Strong: Lou Costello
Mr Dinkelpuss: Bud Abbott

Jack emerges from the cottage in the morning walking across the yard to grab a bucket. He walks past a giant beanstalk without noticing, but on the return he glances to his left and looks briefly with his eyes climbing skyward. He turns continuing to the cottage, but halts mid-step, wheels about and this time, stares in awe.
Jack begins to hoarsely, barely audibly, call, “Mother! Mother!” Gaining his voice and loudly calling, his mother comes running.

Mother:
Jack, what do you want?

Jack:
Will you please get my mother?

Mother:
I am your mother.

Jack:
Mother! Look, look the beanstalk!

The villagers hear the commotion and seeing the giant beanstalk, all come running over.

Jack:
It goes straight up to the sky!
I grew this beanstalk last night with five beans I planted. Five magic beans!

Mother:
Jack, dear, please stop repeating that nonsense.

Jack:
Mother, this isn’t nonsense, this is the truth.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
Hey, are those the beans that I gave you for the cow that disappeared?

Jack:
You mean Henry ran away?

Mr Dinkelpuss:
Yes, and I want my beans back.

Jack:
Don’t you dare disturb that beanstalk. It might lead up to the giant’s castle.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
So what?

Jack:
‘So what’ – maybe a brave boy will climb that beanstalk and kill the giant and save the princess and live happily ever after.

Mother:
Oh no, Jack. The giant will kill you, like he did your poor father.

Jack:
Have no fear, mother. I’m going to climb that beanstalk and I’m gonna kill the giant and avenge my father, and then I’m gonna save the princess, and when I’m up there I’ll look for our little Nelly.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
You mean this boy had a sister? You poor unfortunate woman.

Mother:
Oh no, Nelly was our hen who laid the golden egg.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
A hen that lays the golden egg!

Jack:
Fourteen carat.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
Up there?

Jack:
Oh, sure.

Mr Dinkelpuss:
Well, let me help you my boy!

Jack:
Goodbye, mother!

Jack begins to climb the beanstalk, accompanied by Mr Dinkelpuss.

Village woman:
Don’t worry, Mrs Strong, he won’t be back.

Mother:
You don’t understand; He wasn’t much, but he was all I had.

 

picture-JackBeanstalk-Beans

1 Comment

Filed under Dialogue

One response to “Dialogue from Film – “Jack and the Beanstalk” ~~Magic Beans~~

  1. The film was released in 1952, starring the comedy duo of Abbott & Costello.
    Bud Abbott was born in New Jersey, USA on 2 October 1895 and died on 24 April 1974, aged 78 years.
    Lou Costello was born in New Jersey USA on 6 March 1906 and died on 3 March 1959, aged 52 years.

Leave a Reply

