Excerpt from “Starman” by Alan Dean Foster ~~Repaired~~

picture-Starman-Foster‘No, I must go back. Even if I could remain in this body, I could not stay in this mind.’
She smiled and shook her head. ‘I don’t understand.’
‘I miss my own kind. This is not my world, not my home. Not my way of life. I was not designed for it. My adaptation to your form is as temporary as my adaptation to your ways. Spirit does not follow shape.’ He looked away from her, back out into the night. When he spoke again there was a new solemnity in his voice.
‘There is something I must tell you. I do not know how such things are said, so I will simply say it. I gave you a baby tonight.’
She inhaled sharply. ‘No. That’s impossible. Even if you were human it’d be impossible. I can’t have a child. I told you, I’ve been to half a dozen doctors and they all say the same thing. It’s not a matter of choice; it’s a matter of bad plumbing.’
‘This is outside their experience.’
She thought back to what had happened earlier that evening. ‘Well, I don’t think any of them would argue that one with you, but still . . .’
‘Believe what I tell you, Jennyhayden. When you were shot by the policeman, I healed you. When our car struck the big truck filled with gas you would have burned but I prevented it. Both times I repaired your body. This time I fixed earlier damage. It was not difficult. To you your system may seem terribly complicated. To me it is no more so than the innards of this train.
‘You will have a baby. A boy baby. Not a probecita. I was very careful. It is a matter of careful engineering.’
She didn’t know what to do, how to react. She would have laughed if not for the blatant absurdity of what he was saying. There was too much warmth surrounding her for her to scream. So she just sat and scared.
‘He will be human, the child of your dead husband. The only genes involved are his and yours. But at the same time he will also be my – new person. Offspring. Baby.’ He nodded to himself. ‘Yes, baby. That word is best. He will be mine because I engineered those genes. That is difficult to do, but not impossible. Biochemistry. There is much about your own makeup, your own DNA, that you do not understand. Much that is not used properly by your bodies. These are parts of your genetic code that are blank, like pieces of paper. I wrote on the blank pieces. That part of the baby will be me.’ He turned to look deeply into her eyes.

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Literature

2 responses to “Excerpt from “Starman” by Alan Dean Foster ~~Repaired~~

  1. ‘Starman’ was a film released in 1984. The novel was written by Alan Dean Foster, being based on the screenplay by Bruce A Evans and Raynold Gideon.

  2. Auleen Heffron

    I think I would enjoy this book!
    thanks Luke 🙂

Leave a Reply

