Dialogue – G.I. Blues ~~Wooden Heart~~

Tulsa McLean (Elvis Presley) and Lili (Juliet Prowse) are out on a date and approach a crowd of children.

Tulsa:
What are they excited about?
The circus in town?

Lili:
Better than that. A puppet show.

Tulsa:
Yeah? I’ve never seen one before.

Lili:
Sometimes I wish I was seven years old.

Tulsa:
Come on, let’s be seven again.

Lili:
If the soldier really loves her, he’ll never give up.

Tulsa:
10-1 he chickens out.
– Bet?

Lili:
Bet.

(They watch the show)

Tulsa:
Happy ending. You win.

Lili:
It’s not over yet, now he sings to her.

Tulsa:
No music.
It’s a full orchestra.
I’ll get that thing going.

(Sound of wind-up gramophone band breaking)

Tulsa:
Was los?

Musician: (Showing broken gramophone band)
Kaput!

Tulsa:
You know this tune?

Tulsa:
You think that you can play it on yer squeezebox?

Musician:
Oh, ja!

Tulsa:
What say we give it a whirl?

Musician:
Lets’ how-you-say, ‘Give it a whirl’

Tulsa:
I’ll try anything, once!

(A Puppet show ensues with Elvis singing ‘Wooden Heart’, to a single blonde female puppet)

Can’t you see
I love you
Please don’t break my heart in two
That’s not hard to do
Cause I don’t have a wooden heart
And if you say goodbye
Then I know that I would cry
Maybe I would die
Cause I don’t have a wooden heart
There’s no strings upon this love of mine
It was always you from the start
Treat me nice
Treat me good
Treat me like you really should
Cause I’m not made of wood
And I don’t have a wooden heart

Muss i denn, muss i denn
Zum stadtele hinaus
Stadtele hinaus
Und du, mein schat, bleibst hier?

Muss i denn, muss i denn
Zum stadtele hinaus
Stadtele hinaus
Und du, mein schat, bleibst hier?

There’s no strings upon this love of mine
It was always you from the start
Sei mir gut
Sei mir gut
Sei mir wie du wirklich sollst
Wie du wirklich sollst
Cause I don’t have a wooden heart

(To the sound of the puppet’s father, tapping Elvis’ head and shoulders down and out)

Tulsa: “Oh-oww, Oh-oww”

(The Puppet Theatre Curtain falls)

 

~Translation ~

Because I must, because I must,
Leave this city, leave this city.
And you, my treasure, remain here?

There’s no strings upon this love of mine,
It was always you from the start.

Be good to me, Be good to me,
Be (good to) me, how you really should.
How you really should,
‘Cause I don’t have a wooden heart!”

 

1 Comment

Filed under Dialogue, Lyrics

One response to “Dialogue – G.I. Blues ~~Wooden Heart~~

  1. “G.I. Blues” was released in 1960, starring Elvis Presley as Tulsa McLean, an American soldier stationed in Germany, and Juliet Prowse as Lili, a dancer.
    The song “Wooden Heart” was No.1 for Elvis on the UK Singles chart in 1961.

Leave a Reply

