Excerpt from “Letters of the Great Artists” by Richard Friedenthal ~~Renoir – Charpentier~~

PIERRE AUGUSTE RENOIR TO GEORGES CHARPENTIER
1877
My dear friend,
May I ask you if it is within possibility nevertheless, the sum of three hundred francs before the end of the month. If it is possible, I am truly grieved that it may be the last time and that I shall have nothing to write to you any more except commonplace, quite stupid letters, without asking you for anything because you will owe me nothing any longer except respect, that I am older than you, I do not send you my account because I have none.
Now, my dear friend, have the amiability to thank Madame Charpentier warmly on behalf of her most devoted artist and that I shall never forget that if one day I cross the tape that it is to her that I shall owe, for by myself I am certainly not capable of it. I would like to get there, so as to be able the sooner to procure her all my gratitude.

Pierre Auguste Renoir (1841-1919) spent four years of his youth painting pretty rococo pictures on porcelain, then studied under Gleyre, and achieved some success as a fashionable portrait painter. In 1868 he worked with Monet out of doors and his technique became more Impressionist. Charpentier, the recipient of Monet’s rather similar letter, was a publisher and to a certain extent a patron of art. Renoir’s portrait of Madame Charpentier and her children, painted in 1878, is now in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, which paid 50,000 francs for it in his own lifetime. When asked how much he had been paid for it, he replied, ‘Me! Three hundred francs and lunch!’

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Literature, Non-Fiction

One response to “Excerpt from “Letters of the Great Artists” by Richard Friedenthal ~~Renoir – Charpentier~~

  1. Pierre Auguste Renoir was born in Limoges, France on 25 February 1841, and died on 3 December 1919, aged 78 years.
    Georges Charpentier was born on 22 December 1846, and died on 15 November 1905, aged 58 years.

    The painting depicts:
    Madame Georges Charpentier (Marguérite-Louise Lemonnier, 1848–1904) and Her Children, Georgette-Berthe (1872–1945) and Paul-Émile-Charles (1875–1895)

Leave a Reply

